SPRING RACING CARNIVAL: Derby Day

Derby Day (October 29, 2016), traditionally, means we wear black and white. However abiding to a monochrome dress code can sometimes prove a challenge. Sure, there are many stylish and elegant little black and white dresses, but how are you supposed to make your’s stand out from the crowd? 

I hope today’s blog post helps makes creating your elegant and iconic outfit for Derby day a little easier and sparks some style inspiration…

 After all, it’s as simple as black and white. 🙂

******

DERBY DAY.jpg

The Dress

If you’re hoping to make a style statement, your dress should be the main focus. That’s why I am in love with this  Self Portrait Guipure Lace Dress. It’s stylish, elegant, and makes a statement. The refined lace detailing and unique textures of the design create a modern take on sophisticated monochrome.

The Shoes

With a statement dress, it’s important not to over accessorise. Bring your ensemble back to basics with a neutral pair of sleek heels. These Vince Camuto Court Ankle Strap Sandal meet the brief to a tee, and bring out the flesh underlining of the dress.

The Bag

As I’ve already mentioned, I cannot stress enough the power of minimalist chic accessories. Take this YSL clutch for example. It’s iconic and has a rather simple design. However the quilted leather and monogrammed designer fashion house’s insignia instantly adds an extra touch of sophistication and style, creating a timeless must-have accessory for all fashionistas.

The Jewelry 

As I’ve opted for mostly minimalist accessories, I chose these statement Etro earrings to take this ever so chic Spring racing ensemble to the next level. With a simple pop of colour and charm, these beauties are hard to resist.

The Sunglasses

You can play it safe with a pair of timeless black shades, it I thought I’d shake things up a bit with these tortoiseshell sunglasses from The Iconic. A classic design, these shades are oh so versatile and are a Spring essential.

The Hair & Makeup 

As I like to say, ‘let the outfit speak for itself’. Don’t overthink your makeup and hairstyle. As I’ve recently had a hair change from a lob to a bob myself, I’d suggest a chic wavy bob for those in the same boat, or a sleek half top-knot or chignon bun for those with longer locks. Makeup wise – I’d keep it simple and fresh.

The Fascinator 

I assume you’re all probably wondering where the most important part of this Derby day ensemble is… Well, I couldn’t decide, so I’ve put together a selection of some of my favourites below… Which is your favourite?

Screen Shot 2016-09-25 at 1.14.23 pm.png

For more fascinators click here

******

What are your thoughts on Derby day fashion?

Share your stylish thoughts and style advice in the comments below or say hello at @daisy_chain_daydreams on Instagram.

Here’s a sneak peek of my Instagram feed…

Screen Shot 2016-09-25 at 12.54.51 pm.png

Your style obsessed companion,

Daisy Chain Daydreams xox 

Leave a Reply

