2016 Rewind

Wow – where did 2016 go? What a year! So many exciting adventures and new discoveries…ย 

I was originally only going to write a Happy New Year post but thought there would be too many wonderful memories and experiences to mention without writing a massive essay! (Fear not – this post is rather informal and isn’t a thesis! ๐Ÿ™‚ )

So let’s begin from the beginning of the year…

********

March 2016

In March (gosh- that seems like such a long time ago now), I was lucky enough to attend VAMFF, Virgin Australia Melbourne Fashion Festival, for the very first time! I attended the Fashion Writing Series Workshop, where I listened toย two inspiring talks – one by the founder ofย VoxFrockย and another, an artist. You can read all the details of my time atย VAMFF โ€“ Melbourne Fashion Week (HERE). ๐Ÿ™‚

Screen Shot 2016-12-27 at 4.11.11 pm.png

********

March/April 2016

Another highlight from March/April 2016 was my time in Japan. I had so much fun and would jump on the next plan to Tokyo if given half the chance! ๐Ÿ™‚

There were so many highlights of the trip, too many to mention here, however I will say this – my memory card filled up rather quickly! There were so many photo opportunities -my travel companions were rather patient each time I stopped to capture the moment… From the stunning Japanese Cherry Blossom trees to the kind and generous Japanese, the bold, vibrant and very #streetstyle worthy fashion in Harajuku – it’s too difficult to pick just one favourite experience from the trip.

However I had so much fun being dressed up in a traditional kimono and having my hair done – I felt like a true princess! Trust me – you don’t want to know how many layers geishas’ wear underneath their kimonos…

********

June 2016

Earlier this year in June, I was fortunate enough to complete a week of work experience at a Online Magazine. I had such a wonderful time and siezed every opportunity offered to me – from creating unique flatlays with the brand’sย products, attending the launch of Dry July at Happy Melon Studios and writing season related fashion blog posts! I enjoyed every minute! ๐Ÿ™‚

********

July 2016

It was in July earlier this year that I was sipping delicious hot chocolate with some girlfriends, that we decided to create an Instagram account where we could share all our foodie adventures, including cafรฉ recommendations and foodie flatlays. After brainstorming many possible usernames, we decided on The Melbourne Foodies and dedicated the account to our unconditional love for food (because why not?! ๐Ÿ™‚ ).

You can follow our foodie adventuresย @themelbournefoodiesย on Instagram…

It was also in July when myself and the rest of The Melbourne Foodies attended the Eat.Drink. Westfield festival and took part in the food styling workshop run by Design By Aikonik, the flatlay queen of Instagram! You can marvel at her work here.

This was The Melbourne Foodies finished product from the inspiring workshop:

Screen Shot 2016-12-27 at 4.09.34 pm.png

********

September 2016

Little did I know at the time, my post on how to style the bucket bag was my most viewed blog post this year! To my current go-to handbag, thank you! ๐Ÿ™‚

You can readย 2016: The Year of The Bucket Bag (HERE).

Screen Shot 2016-12-27 at 4.07.57 pm.png

********

Daisy Chain Daydreams Turns 1!

On the 30th of September, Daisy Chain Daydreams Blog celebrated it’s first birthday, #partytime! I am ever so grateful for everyones’ support and encouragement. From my family and friends, to my loyal and interactive readers and followers – thank you! ๐Ÿ™‚

You can read all about the humble beginning of Daisy Chain Daydreams Blog here.

Screen Shot 2016-12-27 at 4.12.58 pm.png

********

I was also fortunate enough to attend the launch of Light Space Yoga‘s new studio in Ivanhoe. The have created such a refreshing studio that after each sessionย I feel like I’ve just attended a yoga retreat on a tropical island… #whatafeeling

Screen Shot 2016-12-27 at 5.02.36 pm.png

********

October 2016

In October, I was fortunate enough to complete another week of work experience, this time at aย marketing, branding and design agency in Melbourne. Needless to say – I had so much fun and enjoyed every task I was assigned! From learning how to use InDesign and better understand Photoshop, to being fortunate enough to have hands on experience using a Wacom tablet. (A Wacom tablet allows you to design graphics which are then directly transferred to a background/design on another electronic device).

I’d describe the week as #amazing! ๐Ÿ™‚

********

November 2016

In November, The Melbourne Foodies scored our first regram, which was rather exciting! Shout out toย @theforeignercafe! Because smashed avocado on toast that looks this photogenic deserves a photo! #if-it’s-not-on-instagram-did-it-really-happen ๐Ÿ™‚

Screen Shot 2016-12-27 at 5.25.03 pm.png

********

December 2016

A couple of weeks ago, I was fortunate enough to escape the pre-Christmas frenzy with some time out in Tasmania. After such an incredible and engaging year, it was a much needed break. We did some hiking, unintentional sun-baking, lots of eating (the seafood in Tassie is incredible and so fresh), and lots of honey tasting…

********

Daisy Chain Daydreams’ First Feature in Print Media!

Another massive highlight was being featured in Collective Hub Magazine (Issue #40)! I feel so happy to have Daisy Chain Daydream’s first ever appearance in print media to be in such an inspiring and influential magazine! Thanksย Collective Hub! ๐Ÿ™‚

Screen Shot 2016-12-27 at 4.08.18 pm.png

********

So that’s a wrap folks! What an amazing year! Here’s to more memories & adventures 2017! Who’s with me? ๐Ÿ™‚

What was your favourite blog post(s) on Daisy Chain Daydreams this year?

I love hearing from you all – so type away in the comments section below (only your chosen username/nickname will be displayed) & say helloย @daisy_chain_daydreamsย on Instagram! ๐Ÿ™‚

Your blogging pal,

Daisy Chain Daydreams xox

#watch-this-space ๐Ÿ™‚

One thought on “2016 Rewind

Leave a Reply

