How to stay motivated after the holidays

Feeling a bit of post holiday blues? Finding it hard to maintain a high level of productivity throughout the day?

Don’t fret – I can assure you, you are not alone. That’s why I thought I would share some of my favourite ways to stay motivated after the holidays. I hope these handy tips are useful & be sure to share any of your own advice in the comments below! 🙂

******

#1: Keep Your Workspace Organised

You only have to refresh your Instagram feed to see an overload of inspiring #workspacegoals – but how do you achieve (and maintain) this minimalist & tidy workspace?

My top tip would be to think practically and carefully plan your storage system(s). Whether it be some nifty overhead shelving, or in and out desk trays – I can assure you that these small and rather understated desk essentials will make all the difference in maintaining a clean and tidy space without much fuss. Some stylish new stationery never hurt anybody either… 🙂

9a399744fe18210c215ebef96d4c0099.jpg

Image Source

******

#2: Surround Yourself With Inspiration

After the holidays running on a rather relaxed and care-free timetable, reconnecting with your work and everyday responsibilities can sometimes prove a challenge. This can be rather frustrating, especially if you are in the creative and design industry. My advice if you are suffering from writer’s block (the worst) or struggling to create fresh new content; would be to take time out to research and be inspired.

Although some people define this as procrastination and/or a time waster; researching and taking time out to be inspired is the complete opposite! My all time favourite way to do this would be having a scroll through Pinterest.

We are very lucky to live in a world where such incredible work and ideas are readily available at the click of a button (literally!). Be savvy with your keyword searches and save pins that inspire you to categorised boards that you can easily refer back to at anytime.

9858f215e8ee3ee0d26fd7c93d20cddb.jpg

Image Source

******

#3: Remember to Treat Yourself

Another great way to regain focus and sometimes sanity (you didn’t hear that from me 🙂 ), is to take some time out for yourself. Also known as ‘me time’, this is anything but a waste of time and is necessary in order to avoid stress and recharge. I think some people feel a bit overwhelmed when they hear advice like this because they aren’t sure where to start.

Take it from me: these don’t have to be big things! Some of my favourite ways to relax and recharge include treating myself to a gorgeously fragrant Lush bath bomb and lighting a candle in my bathroom. Other times, when nothing seems to make things better (you know those days?), a sweet treat is in order. Think delicious chocolate, gourmet donuts and gelato… And I mean, you have to obey doctor’s orders, right?! 🙂

a9f8b750a8b9e8b0c941bf23c4e5b6b1.jpg

Image Source

******

I hope you enjoyed this week’s blog post. Say hello in the comments below & stay inspired by following my Instagram feed @daisy_chain_daydreams here.

Here’s a sneak peek of my feed…

screen-shot-2017-01-26-at-3-45-12-pm

What are your favourite ways to stay motivated after the holidays?

 

Your donut obsessed pal,

Daisy Chain Daydreams xox

Leave a Reply

