BEAUTY: Makeup & Skincare Storage Ideas

This week I thought I would shake things up a bit by writing a beauty blog post! Over the past 10 months or so, I have discovered my love for makeup – sure, I’d worn it before then, but I wasn’t very creative and didn’t really know what I was doing….

Everything has changed now – I’m always watching Youtube videos on how to create different looks with new makeup palettes, or a favourites video of lipstick collections – I mean, who doesn’t love watching these?! (Please don’t tell me I’m the only one ๐Ÿ™‚ )

Now my makeup collection has begun to grow (not dramatically – I don’t have 20 eyeshadow palettes or anything like that….) BUT it can still be a bit of a challenge to create an easily accessible storage system.

So I thought I would share some of my favourite makeup storage ideas with you today. I hope you enjoy it & find some inspiration! ๐Ÿ™‚

******

The Location

This is important and can sometimes be easily overlooked. Let’s face it – the last thing you want to be doing when you’re in a rush in the morning is walking from room to room forย that oneย lipstick. Trust me – I’ve been there (too many times)! ๐Ÿ™‚

So once you’ve found a place that works for you – whether it’s your bathroom cupboard, a self in your bedroom or a vanity table, #goals! – you can start organising!

58311a7c82b9eb397b528221b7d9a362.jpg

Image via Kate La Vie

******

Pretty Pots & Containers

Brands like Ikea and Ebay have a great range of containers and pots which are perfect for storing your makeup in. I love this almost doilyย like canisters from Ikea, (they are a few years old, but I’m sure they will still stock something like it). These are perfect for your brushes, sponges and longer items like mascara and eyeliner.

70c324aecb306481b6fcde1125ed12a0.jpg

Image Source

******

Candle Containers

You only have to open Instagram or Pinterest to see that candles are becoming theย itย makeup storage solution. Some people store things like cotton buds and their makeup brushes in them, whilst I’ve also seen pictures where people have stored their nail polishes and tubes of lipgloss in them.

Luxury brands like Diptyque and Fornasetti (yes, I just sighed!), as well as designers like Jo Malone and Peppermint Grove have beautiful scented candlesย andย their containers are so iconic and dreamy – it really is the most perfect thing! ๐Ÿ™‚

I’m actually writing this post whilst I have an Ecoya candle lit on the coffee table beside me – I rarely do things like this, so I’m feeling rather pampered right now! ๐Ÿ™‚

makeup6.jpg

Image via Kate La Vie

******

How to Create The Perfect Shelfie

First things first – divide your bathroomย cupboard into sections (it will really make things easier to access). Think: skincare on one shelf, everyday makeup essentials like foundation and your go-to eyeshadow palette(s) on another and maybe save one for your nail polish collection. Of course, you can mix things up a bit, this is just a rough framework to get you in the mood! ๐Ÿ™‚

Screen Shot 2017-04-12 at 2.36.08 pm

Image via @designbyaikonik

******

The Storage Unit That’s an Instagram Sensation

If you’ve been on Instagram recently, you’ll know what I mean when I say these clear storage drawer sets are so popular at the moment. Brands like Muji, Ikea and Target sell variations of this simple yet effective storage unit. After seeing how useful and tidy they look styled on a vanity table or dresser next to some style books and perfume, I’m adding one to my online shopping cart as I’m writing this! ๐Ÿ™‚

Screen Shot 2017-04-12 at 2.37.13 pm.png

Image via @designbyaikonik

******

Skincare & Bathroom Essentials

So for your Lush bath bomb collection, hand-creams, unopened shower gels and body scrubs – brass and copper baskets and containers are a great storage option. You can easily fit these into a cupboard out of sight or, if you’re like me, and want to keep them on display – depending on how much room you have, use a little bar cart (yes, you read correctly!) or something similar to store them on.

04e31086b4ed24d179f3a5f52556abf4.jpg

Image via Kate La Vie

******

What’s your favourite makeup storage system?

I hope you enjoyed this week’s bog post – let me know in the comments section below whether you enjoyed this style of post and if you found it useful! (Please note: only your chosen nickname will be displayed). I love reading your lovely messages! ๐Ÿ™‚

Your luxury candle obsessed pal,

Daisy Chain Daydreams xox

For new blog posts delivered straight to your inbox, subscribe to my blog via Bloglovinโ€™ย hereย or follow me on Instagram @daisy_chain_daydreams for notifications & more inspoโ€ฆ ๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

2 thoughts on “BEAUTY: Makeup & Skincare Storage Ideas

Leave a Reply

