FRENCH CHIC: Autumn & Winter Style Essentials

I adore everything French – the way of life, history, cuisine, beauty, culture and my favourite – style. That’s way I thought I would share some of my favourite classic Autumn & Winter style essentials….

Although I must admit – I too find myself catching on to some of the high street trends each season (I mean, who doesn’t?!), I always invest in key pieces that are inspired by the French. So today, I’m sharing seven of my go-to wardrobe essentials that have eternal style (and are so easy to give a new season update if you like). Enjoy!

******

Trench Coat

Well, this one is pretty obvious – the French trench coat is a style staple in the French culture. It doesn’t matter the season or year, this coat is a classic. Paired with a floral blouse or striped culottes in Spring & Summer, or with a neutral turtleneck and black jeans in Autumn & Winter – the outfit ideas are endless!

cbb3b07b90f9213db6d1395c4d3f28c1.jpg

Image via Collage Vintage

******

Navy Blazer

Another French essential – the navy blazer adds volumes of chic and sophistication to every outfit and any style. A personal favourite in Spring in a navy blazer paired with crisp white jeans and a patterned loose fitting blouse, whilst in Winter, my go to is a soft cashmere knit (ahem – turtleneck) and black skinnies with ankle boots for the evening and sneakers for daytime errands or brunch.

5d333ac9d5b3584c3eb201063927a66c.jpg

Image Source

******

White Shirt

The white shirt is another classic I could never picture myself living without. Designer labels such as Chloé and YSL have some beautiful styles, whilst high street brands like Zara and Witchery also have some gorgeous style, which won’t break the budget!

140bf09826e68649a9b22c576bad2a32.jpg

Image via Fashion Jackson

******

Black Jeans

Black jeans are my go-to pants – whether I’m going out to dinner for a special occasion – think pastel floral blouse, black skinny jeans, a grey overcoat and ankle boots. Or for a relaxed weekend away, think: a loose fitting linen shirt, white sneakers (Adidas Stan Smiths are my current favourite!), black skinnies and a pair of classic sunglasses (Celiné anyone?!).

64216f8159893f5217448fa288a1a9e3 (1).jpg

Image via The Pink Diary

******

Turtleneck

When the temperature cools down – don’t think you can’t wear a fitted blazer because you’re wearing chunky jumpers. Although more heavier knits are a Winter essential (especially in France), more lighter wool blends such as merino wool and cashmere are gorgeous alternatives if you’re looking for something warm and cosy to layer with a fitted blazer.

120061a39b7e0fe00917dc2f24e8dc69.jpg

Image Source

******

Striped Top

A classic French style essential – the breton stripe really is so sophisticated. Whether paired with aforementioned black jeans and luxurious leather Gucci loafers for everyday elegance, or with a black leather jacket and patent heels for a elegant and modern date night look.

5cfa3024373780e17d55b8fb9d306f6b.jpg

Image Source

******

Designer Bag

It’s no secret the French love their designers – after all, so many of the labels you love and dream about today are French! But they do have a minimalist way of showing it – they’re not flashy and showy – they won’t be seen wearing 3 or 4 pieces screaming luxury labels. Instead, think a sophisticated monogrammed YSL leather bag, paired with a chic Chloé silk shirt – see what I mean…. #true_elegance

6e4438c2efe472bf203fb11eda673664.jpg

Image Source

******

I hope you enjoyed this week’s style blog post!

What are your favourite French style essentials?

Let me know in the comments section below (only your chosen nickname will be displayed) and say hello @daisy_chain_daydreams on Instagram! 🙂

Screen Shot 2017-04-17 at 3.17.46 pm.png

Image via Garance Doré on Instagram

If you’re as in love which the essence and style of the French as me, you may enjoy reading my French-girl Approved Hairstyles to try this Autumn blog post.

Your French style adoring pal,

Daisy Chain Daydreams xox

For new blog posts delivered straight to your inbox, subscribe to my blog via Bloglovin’ here or follow me on Instagram @daisy_chain_daydreams for notifications & more inspo…

One thought on “FRENCH CHIC: Autumn & Winter Style Essentials

Leave a Reply

