COLOUR THEORY: Spring & Summer red fashion

Okay, so I’m not really a red person when it comes to my personal style, however this Spring & Summer I feel inclined to make a few exceptions… In other words – I’m loving all things red at the moment!

I thought I would share some of my favourite Spring & Summer outfits featuring red clothes and accessories. I promise there’s a look for everyone… Enjoy!

 

*****

Accessories

If you’re looking for a subtle way to add a pop of colour to your wardrobe this Spring & Summer season, I’d suggest red accessories. Not only is red currently the ‘it colour of the season’ in the fashion world, but the bold hue can really add to your outfit. If your style is more minimalist (like myself), I’d suggest accessories like handbags and/or bracelets to introduce this trend into your wardrobe…

Screen Shot 2017-06-30 at 8.50.58 pm

Image via The Anna Edit

*****

Patterns

Patterns are another excellent way of experimenting with colour in your wardrobe… I feel this is a great way to start if you’re a little worried you might buy something red and then never wear it (don’t worry – we’ve all been there!), as you’re not committed to just one colour. For example, I love this outfit by The Atlantic Pacific – she has certainly added colour to her outfit with red whilst not letting it take over. By toning the vibrant hue down with neutral accessories you can crate endless winning outfits! Trust me 🙂

clear.jpg

Image via The Atlantic Pacific

*****

Dresses

I love how Margo & Me has incorporated red into her personal more vintage/classic style. She has opted for a lovely off the shoulder striped dress which is a classic and by choosing it in red it gives the dress a modern twist. By pairing it with chic retro accessories like a Cult Gaia basket bag (on point!), statement sunnies and a straw hat, she is still remaining true to her own style.

222.jpg

Image via Margo & Me

*****

Dresses

On the subject of dresses, I also love how Song of Style has channeled the red trend here. For those of you looking for something red to make a fashionable statement look, I would suggest a feature garment – whether it be a dress/top/pants as they are usually the main part of an outfit. Get my lingo? 🙂 Frills help soften this strong colour which I think is rather clever and stylish.

2db553768f7a1648d006dff088bba56f.jpg

Image via Song of Style

*****

Blouses

Another great way to add a pop of red to your Spring & Summer wardrobe is everyday basics like tops, shirts and blouses. For a boho street style vibe I’d definitely channel this outfit by fashionista Jenny Walton. It’s chic, comfortable, breezy, on point and practical – what more could you want from an outfit? 🙂

blouse.jpg

Image via Vogue Paris

*****

Shop my favourite red fashion & accessories here…

red fashion.jpg

Shop the edit: floral wrap dress | cold shoulder dress floral blouse | tassel bag |     cross-body bag | floral shorts |

*****

I hope you enjoyed this week’s style blog post! It’s a little different to how I usually set out posts, being about one colour and all, but I did enjoy creating this post. Let me know in the comments section below if you enjoyed it & if you have any suggestions or requests for future Spring & Summer blog posts. I love hearing from you all! 🙂

Daisy Chain Daydreams xox

*****

For new blog posts delivered straight to your inbox, subscribe to my blog via Bloglovin’ here or follow me on Instagram @daisy_chain_daydreams for notifications & more inspo… 🙂

Leave a comment