FASHION: French Spring Style Essentials…

I thought I would make my ‘French style essentials’ a seasonal series, after the positive feedback I received on my Winter post. Plus, I’ve really enjoyed creating this style of content, and thought it would be fun to write one for Spring style! 🙂

I’ve included some of my favourite French style essentials that I believe are perfect for Spring weather, and some inspiration for curating a Spring capsule wardrobe… Enjoy!

******

A Striped Tee

I literally own a zillion striped tops – long sleeve tops, t-shirts, shirts, and jumpers. About 90% of my wardrobe is striped – maybe I was supposed to be French…? 🙂

Anyways, my point is that this pattern is so versatile and can dress an outfit up or down. Think a loose fitting linen striped tee with a light wash denim pair of jeans and flats for ultimate casual and classy style, perfect for a brunch with friends and running errands. For a more evening appropriate outfit, I’d suggest pairing a silk striped shirt with black skinny jeans, a pair of oxfords or heels and a simple nude clutch. True sophistication.

44246aa5a8e61c3cd50460274cbbe867.jpg

Image Source

******

A Silk Camisole

Camisoles are another versatile and comfortable Spring layering essential as they work well with just about anything. This means you don’t have to have a huge wardrobe to wear something fresh and exciting each day – simply invest in some quality camisoles for ease of dressing every morning! All you need to do is mix and match the different coloured camisoles with the rest of your wardrobe, and you’ll be guaranteed to look #onpoint…

STYLE ADVICE: Also, I’d suggest starting with some neutral hues such as white, cream, grey, black, caramel/tan, or navy as they make a great base for layering and work well with pretty much every other colour.

fd0ffe18069552e86b0ecb730380cada.jpg

Image Source

******

A Layering Cardigan

Cardigans are great for layering and the transitional period between seasons, especially Winter and Spring. Again, I’d suggest starting with neutral hues as they are so versatile and this way it means you don’t have to build the rest of your outfit around the cardigan, rather the other way round – style your desired outfit first, and then throw on a neutral cardigan on top… talk about effortless french style! It truly is an art… 🙂

Screen Shot 2017-09-23 at 12.04.52 pm.png

Image Source

******

A White Shirt

A white shirt, sure this one mind sound a bit cliché, but it is such a simple yet elegant and sophisticated item of clothing to own. Sure everyone all over the globe wears this trend, but I just had to include it in this French inspired post as I believe the white shirt is truly the essence of French style.

I’d suggest pairing a white shirt with denim jeans, sneakers, minimalist accessories and a simple chignon bun for a daytime look, and with black cigarette pants, patent heels, statement CelinĂ© sunglasses and a neutral tone leather handbag for a formal occasion.

125.jpg

Image Source

******

A Trench Coat

A layering essential, a trench coat is a stylish way to dress up any outfit, and works well with everything. From stripes (clichĂ©, I know, but it work so well!), a white linen shirt, a bright necktie/scarf, flats and a designer leather handbag (yes please!) – this wardrobe essential works in every season, with every colour, for every occasion (quite literally!). And if that’s not enough incentive, another bonus is that so many fashion labels are designing various styles with different price points – from the more affordable high street to luxe designer, there’s a style and price point for every fashionista! 🙂

7a8c386efe658b9cf723c9275966ffb0

Image Source

******

A White Dress

As the weather warms and the occasion aries for an alfresco dinner, coffee date, or a friend’s wedding, a white LWB – little white dress – is perfect! They are so versatile and there are so many different styles available, from lace, linen, pleats, etc… Some current favourites are this white off the shoulder dress from Line & Dot (high street), and this white ruffled dress with navy lace detailing from Lisa Marie Fernandez (designer) – definitely on my wishlist! 🙂

c1bfd5e785c6e74f8d73dfa8b933e3bd.jpg

Image Source

******

Denim Jeans

Denim jeans are another simple, casual and versatile wardrobe essential, and are a perfect base for building a chic ensemble in Spring. paired with leather ballet flats, a tucked in shirt and sunglasses, they truly are such a style asset to have in your wardrobe and are my everyday go-to style.

f95e0b105a9737dc6b4b4870cb50313e.jpg

Image Source

******

White Sneakers

White sneakers have been taking the world by storm for the last few years, and the trend shows no signs of stopping anytime soon. They are so versatile too, and add an edge of #streetstyle to any outfit. I’ve recently enjoyed pairing mine with a pair of black jeans (my all time fave), a striped top, CelinĂ© shades, and a red handbag.

Thank goodness this Insta-famous shoe trend is comfortable too! 🙂 My favourites include Adidas Stan Smiths (with navy label), a classic pair of Supergas and Converse All Stars.

0f6b67ae48e2e7f6f02559bca5cc1834.jpg

Image Source

******

I hope you enjoyed my latest instalment to my ‘French style essentials’ series, and found some inspiration for the season ahead. If you’re reading this from overseas, you might enjoy my Autumn & Winter French essentials post here.

Also, let me know your favourite Spring style essentials in the comments section below! I’d love to hear your style advice! 🙂

 

Daisy Chain Daydreams xxx

Leave a comment